United Downs Raceway - Sunday 9th August 2015

Despite some light drizzle in the morning, it was a dry, overcast day that greeted racegoers at the United Downs Raceway, for the return of the BriSCA F2 Stock Cars – racing in Cornwall for the first time in over a month, and for the penultimate time this year.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars

Despite the attraction of some very generous sponsorship, just six drivers took up the challenge of Total White Out at the start of the meeting.  Those six drivers had their grid positions determined by public draw, and front row starter 87 Paul Weekes made the early running, with 404 Jamie Pepper also in the hunt.  Weekes’ fellow stalwart, 663 Bryan Lindsay, bounced back from an indifferent start to the race, to challenge for the lead, and in the closing stages he edged clear to secure a comfortable victory.  Pepper was second, whilst teenager 689 Joe Marquand and 826 Chris Tuckfield grabbed third and fourth respectively on their track debuts.  Lindsay’s victory saw him win a brand new wing, courtesy of Premier Motorsport Developments.  Disappointingly, four Cornish drivers were absent from the meeting, and that contributed to a lower than expected car count of 27.  Accordingly, a two from three format was used, and what an afternoon it proved to be for the blue grade, as all five of the races yielded a blue top winner.  542 Steven Gilbert was first to triumph, as he led home 126 Jamie Avery.  In heat two, 605 Liam Rowe led home Gilbert, and in heat three, 522 Chris Mikulla took the flag, from 302 Dale Moon.  In light of the carnage from the first bend of the World QR final at the 5 July meeting, and as a trial exercise, a clutch start was deployed for the meeting final, for the Silverline Trophy.  Despite fears from some, this worked very well, and all drivers stormed into action at the drop of the green flag.  Marquand, Pepper and Tuckfield each had a turn in the lead, but by lap 9, Moon had hit the front, as a train of blue tops forged into the lead positions.  Moon had Gilbert, Rowe, Avery and Mikulla all in close order behind him, but whilst the pack shuffled for the lower places, Moon and Gilbert held the first two places all the way.  Into the closing stages, Gilbert decided he had to make a dive at Moon, and this he did, going into the turnstile bend, but Moon was just out of range.  Gilbert lost ground, but not second place, and Moon held on for victory, with Mikulla completing the top three.  189 Paul Butcher completed a day of all-blue grade winners, with victory in the GN, after reeling in long time leader 76 Chris Rowe, two laps from home.

Saloon Stock Cars

A dozen Saloon Stock Cars included National Points leader 698 Danny Colliver, who had raced at Cowdenbeath the previous evening.  276 Ben King made a good start to heat one, in stark contrast to European Champion 677 Eddie Darby, who was hampered by gearbox issues.  King was hunted down by 475 Ben Sealy, but there was little to choose between them, and despite Sealy’s efforts, King stayed out of range, to claim a maiden victory.  In heat two, King managed an even better start, and although 199 Phil Powell and Darby made good progress, King scored a second convincing victory.  The Cornish Championship completed the afternoon, and was one of the most exciting races of the whole meeting.  Colliver and Darby clashed at the start, whilst King again built up a big advantage at the front.  612 Lee Pink broke free to lead the chase, but in turn he was pursued by Powell, whilst 717 Richard James kept hopes of a home win alive, by heading the star grade.  As the laps ticked by, the gaps closed, but before Pink could challenge King, he was passed by Powell, and suddenly, Powell had a chance at the title.  Starting the last lap, Powell was perfectly placed, and he dived in on the last bend to send King wide.  Powell took the lead, Pink stole second, and King gathered it all up to hold on for third.

National Micro Bangers

The first meeting at St Day for National Micro Bangers since Cornish Metro Madness in August 2007, saw 18 drivers in action in the small cars.  Amongst them was 359 Garry Allen, on his return to racing, but he was inadvertently struck in the drivers’ door in the first race, and took no further part in the meeting, unfortunately.  During the afternoon, there were assorted rollovers, and several big crashes, with 447 Adam Hicks on the receiving end.  133 Terry Hill kept up his winning ways as he charged to victory in heat one, and 333 Craig Partridge took heat two.  The final came down to a two-way battle between Partridge and 511 Dan Crosbie.  Just when it looked like Crosbie had been removed by a backmarker, Partridge was also hindered on the final bend.  That threw the win back to Crosbie in a really exciting finish.  95 Marcus Bunt took a blinding hit from Crosbie at the start of the DD.  He was shaken up, but after a precautionary check in hospital, he was released the same evening.  947 Luke Purdy went on to win the DD, finishing off 71 Scott Stevens at the conclusion.

BriSCA F2 Stock Cars 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Total White Out 663 404 689 826 87 529 nof
Heat 1 A&B 542 126 522 315 302 189 83 76 254 797
Heat 2 B&C 605 542 126 476 797 575 979 83 578 828
Heat 3 C&A 522 302 315 76 254 189 575 627 663 979
Final 302 542 522 605 575 315 126 189 476 797
Grand National 189 76 476 254 627 302 575 578 83 797
Grade Awards W 663 Y 76 B 542
Saloon Stock Cars 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 276 475 199 612 460 619 698 995 158 717
Heat 2 276 199 677 612 995 158 698 717 460 619
Cornish Ch. 199 612 276 717 460 698 619 677 158 995
National Micro Bangers 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 133 45 47 333 447 947 95 79 nof
Heat 2 333 45 47 133 731 447 511 186 95 79
Final 511 333 74 133 nof
DD 947
Best Presented 47 447 359
  • IMG_0185
  • IMG_0188
  • IMG_0205
  • IMG_0218
  • IMG_0227
  • IMG_0233
  • IMG_0255
  • IMG_0259
  • IMG_0270
  • IMG_0296
  • IMG_0365
  • IMG_7992
  • IMG_7997
  • IMG_8003
  • IMG_8020
  • IMG_8031
  • IMG_8037
  • IMG_8045
  • IMG_8074

Site by Chris Frankum | Design by Andy Jackson

Powered by software developed by Nexus Open Software

Terrms and Conditions

© 2020 Autospeed. All Rights Reserved.