Smeatharpe Stadium - Monday 1st May 2017

The change to the format of Mayday Monday at Smeatharpe had a little bit of something for everyone, and the crowd had an enjoyable afternoon in the Bank Holiday sunshine.

Saloon Stock Cars

Despite the offer of a £100 bonus for a first south west winner at Smeatharpe this season, the day’s trio of races still fell into the hands of the long distance contingent.  First to strike was 158 Shane Davies, who was up to third by the halfway point, tracking down 799 Joe Powell and race leader 800 Scott Greenslade.  Davies duly reeled them in, and a last bend lunge by 217 Sid Madgwick saw him displace 619 Ross Thomas for second.  Heat two was suspended when 290 Stefan Bailey (in the Hire car) lost the bonnet, which had to be retrieved from the pits bend.  Madgwick hunted down long time leader Greenslade, and took the win.  In the final, Greenslade edged clear of his fellow white graders, to build up an early lead.  199 Phil Powell made good progress from the blue grade, but even though the former British Champion got up to second, he could not overhaul the distant Greenslade who won his second consecutive Smeatharpe final, to land the West of England title.  Davies completed the top three.

Stock Rods

Racing their second south west meeting in successive days, the Stock Rods had 23 cars in the pits, yet only 20 made it out for racing.  Heat one was led by 426 Keith Channon – on his home track debut.  He looked set for victory, but was caught late on by 215 Danny Johnson, and when Channon drifted wide on the back straight, the south coast star swept by to take the lead and the win.  The Mobile Eco Tuning final started with a succession of spinners – as 9 Chris Drake, 234 Josh Murray, 14 Ross Montgomery and Johnson all gyrated.  Channon again built up an impressive lead, but as the race moved into its final third, he encountered problems when trying to pass backmarker Montgomery.  Ultimately it proved not to be decisive and Channon held on for the win.  24 James Matson emerged from a lot of bumping and boring in the chasing pack to take second, and newly crowned ORC Champion 91 Jim Pitcaithly found himself docked from third to fifth, having punted 3 Matt Peters wide earlier in the race.  Thus, 151 Simon Vincent inherited third place.  After a rough ride at St Day the previous afternoon, Scot 70 Steve Archibald had something to remember his long trip to the westcountry, as he won the Grand National.


Nine teams contested this year’s Team Championship for the Bangers, and once again, it was the Men In Black who ran out as convincing winners.  45 Mike Reed (Ply) took the first heat, after 785 Nick Craddock (Team Royale) had led much of the way.  When the points had been adjusted for Early Bookings, Signing In and Team Colours bonuses, it was Pussay Patrol who held a slender lead.  However, the Men In Black fought back in heat two, and with three finishers in the top ten, including race winner 320 Dan Abbott, they scored significantly well to move ahead, with just the deciding heat remaining.  If the first two heats had been full of racing, there were many more incidents and crashes in heat three.  Through the chaos, it was 154 Barry Pike (Dave Weare) who lead beyond the halfway point, but 246 Ryan Sparks (Men In Black) moved ahead when it mattered, and with team mate 185 Rich Coaker in sixth, that sealed the overall victory.  Despite news of many more takers for an impromptu Destruction Derby, just five drivers emerged for the last event showdown.  Even so, there were some brutal hits, as 11 Grubby Frankson fell by the wayside and Sparks was annihilated by 112 Mike Simmons, which left 79 Brian Edmond to finish off Simmons and land a farewell blow on the ever-gallant 74 Adam Hitchcock, whose car was battered beyond recognition.


The opening heat for the Ministox saw 654 Harley Soper swiftly into the lead.  A good battle between 667 Tommy Farrell and 677 Warren Darby developed behind, but it was Soper out front, and he won comfortably, ahead of 917 Gemma Robbins.  Farrell and Darby raced well together again in heat two, as they chased, and caught, Robbins.  Farrell took the win, from Darby, with 907 Cameron Lawrence in third.  That left a front row of Farrell and Soper for the Devon Championship.  A frantic opening lap saw Darby get ahead from row two, but Lawrence spun him around on the back straight, to take the lead.  911 Harrison Bryant eased into second, but then got tangled up with Farrell and backmarker 946 Stacey Coombes.  At the midway point, 985 Sam Carter clouted the back straight fence, after being inadvertently spun by 972 Jack Soby.  259 Bradley Eltham also clobbered the fence in the aftermath of the yellow flags being brought out.  Despite the field closing up, Lawrence eased clear at the restart to reclaim the Devon title, and on the last bend, 980 Charlie Lobb just managed to edge 902 Junior Buster wide to snatch second place by a slender margin.

BriSCA Micro F2 Stock Cars

Amongst a small entry of infant racers in the BriSCA Micro F2 Stock Cars were 607 Christina Sillifant and 51 Jolean Maynard, each of whom had raced in Scotland on the Saturday, and at Skegness the day before.  Race wins were shared by 66 Harvey Breakspear and Maynard, before 9 Harry Parramore proved uncatchable from the front of the grid in the final, as 783 Fin Carter snatched second from 290 Alfie Tomkins right on the line.

Saloon Stock Cars 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 158 217 800 619 799 399 28 157 386 447
Heat 2 217 158 157 800 619 199 447 399 799 386
Final 800 199 158 217 619 28 399 157 903 799
Ministox 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 654 917 677 667 907 911 980 392 259 943
Heat 2 667 677 907 654 917 980 577 902 943 999
Devon Championship 907 980 902 392 654 911 917 259 577 943
Stock Rods 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 215 426 740 45 9 234 14 68 3 151
Final 426 24 151 944 91 208 3 45 51 203
Grand National 70 24 234 740 202 203 215 9 151 14
Bangers 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 45 797 785 406 451 154 246 320 145 335
Heat 2 320 451 185 797 153 768 246 785 718 45
Heat 3 246 154 797 785 366 185 45 457 153 79
DD 79
Micro F2s 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 66 783 290 607 9 870 770 nof
Heat 2 51 783 290 607 870 66 770 nof
Final 9 783 290 870 66 770 607 nof
  • DSC_4329
  • IMG_0045
  • IMG_0054
  • IMG_0066
  • IMG_0078
  • IMG_0089
  • IMG_0110
  • IMG_0119
  • IMG_0121
  • IMG_0141
  • IMG_0179
  • IMG_0188
  • IMG_0209
  • IMG_0261
  • IMG_0341
  • IMG_0367
  • IMG_0379
  • IMG_0385
  • IMG_0426
  • IMG_0467

Site by Chris Frankum | Design by Andy Jackson

Powered by software developed by Nexus Open Software

Terrms and Conditions

© 2021 Autospeed. All Rights Reserved.