Current Track Point Leaders - Smeatharpe
No. Driver Points
National Bangers
190 Steve Bailey 159
929 Sam Baker 63
Old Skool 2L bangers
133 Terry Hill 121
654 Harley Soper 119
Stock Rods
3 Matt Peters 107
BriSCA F2 Stock Cars
127 Matt Stoneman 303
Saloon Stock Cars
27 Kieren Bradford 197

Kids Logo Small
Apply for your voucher here

Preview Poster

Autospeed Short Oval Motor Racing | Race Meetings | Previews | Sunday 27th January 2019

Smeatharpe Stadium - between Honiton and Taunton EX14 9RF

Sunday 27 January 13:00

The 2019 season with Autospeed will begin in customary fashion with the Winter Open Championship for 2 Litre National Bangers.  The event will again feature supporting action from the non-contact Stock Rods, and from the youngsters in the Ministox.

  • Southern Motorsport

    Southern Motorsport

  • 190 - Steve Bailey

    190 - Steve Bailey

  • 907 - Cameron Bradford

    907 - Cameron Bradford

  • 45 - Anthony Croshaw

    45 - Anthony Croshaw

  • 233 - Liam Parkin

    233 - Liam Parkin

  • 307 - Simon Rogers

    307 - Simon Rogers

  • 457 - Nathaniel Wheeler

    457 - Nathaniel Wheeler

  • 337 - Darren Waters

    337 - Darren Waters

  • 776 - Simon Jones

    776 - Simon Jones

  • 909 - Justin Washer

    909 - Justin Washer

  • 569 - Adam Langridge

    569 - Adam Langridge

Southern Motorsport

Southern Motorsport, who are suppliers of overalls, gloves, balaclavas, neck supports, goggles, etc and other driver racewear, will be in attendance.
They also stock other items which contribute to keeping race cars mobile and on track ready to carry on racing.

2 Litre National Bangers

Winter Open Championship
Sponsored by Busssell Plant Ltd
Click here for the Roll of Honour.
Best Presented Awards * Top Trier Award * Top Entertainer Award * Most Wrecked Car Award
190 Steve Bailey is a four times previous winner of the Winter Open Championship.  Can he possibly add a record fifth title?
Victorious in the National Bangers Championship of the World last November, 907 Cameron Bradford will be looking to enjoy further success.
The Winter Open typically attracts a strong representation from the south coast and early interest includes 218 Kev Plunket and 168 Luke Fairey.
Similarly, there is usually a prominent involvement of drivers from north Devon, which is set to include 307 Simon Rogers and brothers 297 Chris Hommell and 397 Ben Hommell.

2 Jack Hodges 45 Anthony Croshaw
74 Adam Hitchcock 114 Liam Lake
131 Sam Hill 133 Terry Hill
162 Brett Ellacott 168 Luke Fairey
208 Kieran Barrett 218 Kev Plunkett
233 Liam Parkin 297 Chris Hommell
311 Simon Rogers 372 Jay Matthews
376 Steve Hill 382 Tommy Hutchings
397 Ben Hommell 451 Nigel Belfield
457 Nathaniel Wheeler 658 Adam Dorse
714 Paul Smaldon 720 Kenny Gabriel Jnr
838 Jamie Peters 842 Jack Perkins
861 Jean-Marc Penaluna 908 David Brown
912 Simon Rees 917 Andrew Tew
921 Kairan Wilson
190 Steve Bailey 907 Cameron Bradford

Stock Rods

The non-contact Stock Rods will make their first appearance of the year.
In a battle that went all the way to the final meeting of the season, 9 Chris Drake clinched the Autospeed Points Championship.  He will thus make his first appearance under the silver roof.
337 Darren Waters is set to head to the westcountry again, whilst former Ministox racer 982 Sophie Daughtrey will begin her second full season in the senior class.

81 Robert Johns 972 Jack Soby
982 Sophie Daughtrey
41 James Horwell 72 Marc Soby
222 Mike Belcher 337 Darren Waters
426 Keith Channon
25 Luke Plain
3 Matt Peters 14 Ross Montgomery
92 Adam Daniels 437 Lewis Trickey
776 Simon Jones 909 Justin Washer
9 Chris Drake


Sponsored by BB Van Hire of Heathfield
The youngsters will make their first westcountry appearance of the year.
Ahead of racing, joint Points Champions, 619 Max Langmaid and 654 Harley Soper, will be presented with their awards.
Having become something of a regular racer at Smeathrpe in 2018, 569 Adam Langridge from the south coast, will again be on the grid.
Newcomer to the Ministox, 913 Jack Collins is set to compete at Smeatharpe for the first time.

136 Emmaleigh Polley 870 Stella Farrell
907 Cadan Davies 942 Leon Williams
970 Millie Farrell
569 Adam Langridge
514 Abbie McGuinness 577 Harry Darby
980 Charlie Lobb 985 Sam Carter

Raceday Programme

In the Five Years Ago section of the Raceday Programme, the focus will be on 26 January 2014.  For much of the race, it looked as though 382 Jack Foster was going to land the Winter Open title, but can you recall who intervened and managed to stop him with a controversial move late in the race?

Admission Prices: General Admission £15; Concession (5-15 year old) £5; Concession (over 65) £10; 
Family (2 General + up to 4 Children) £38; Seating £1; Free Parking
Click here to apply for Kids Go Free vouchers


Site by Chris Frankum | Design by Andy Jackson

Powered by software developed by Nexus Open Software

Terrms and Conditions

© 2019 Autospeed. All Rights Reserved.