Smeatharpe Stadium - Monday 3rd May 2021

The first Smeatharpe meeting of 2021 finally took place, albeit that much to the frustration of all involved, spectators were not permitted under current government restrictions, and it was with a wry smile that Charlie Rich’s Behind Closed Doors rang out over the PA system as the cars came out for the opening event.

Stock Rods

A good 16-car Stock Rod entry saw a number of newcomers make competitive debuts.  The opening heat had barely started when it was brought to a halt with 285 Martin Walker losing a wheel in a collision with 32 James Horwell.  The final few laps of the race saw a tremendous battle for the lead as 286 Martin Walker Jnr defended from 728 Kris Woods and British Champion 909 Justin Washer, the latter unable to make the outside line work well enough for him to get past Walker Jnr before the chequered flag fell to mark his maiden win.  The Final saw teenager 77 Tom Larcombe lead the early stages, but he was dislodged from first place by Walker Jnr who received a black cross from the steward for his endeavours.  Soon after, Walker Jnr retired to the infield, but by this stage the returning 944 Callum Hosie had charged through into the lead where he built up a healthy advantage.  Hosie was away and gone, and he was unchallenged by the chasing pack, in which 504 Andrew Worthington and Washer enjoyed a close battle for the runner-up spot.  Worthington was the class of the field in the Grand National taking a comfortable win whilst Final winner Hosie made rapid progress up to fifth place from the lap handicap.


The 20 car entry was most pleasing with almost half the entry being novices or white graders.  As such, the opportunity was taken to run a two from three heat format to allow for a less congested track over the opening heats.  The first heat was brought under yellow flag conditions early on with 567 Mia Batten having pranged the back straight wall.  Shortly after the restart 242 Amy Williams inadvertently slammed into the rear of 922 Kaydi Butcher during a hectic moment in a pits bend.  Points Champion 577 Harry Darby sped through to the front to take the win.  Heat two saw 770 Austen Farrell lead until the lap boards came out when 382 Corey Hunt forced his way past, however Farrell was not for giving up easily, and he came back to connect with the Hunt rear bumper with third placed 525 Harrison Stone seized the opportunity to climb into the lead.  Hunt recovered quickly however and with a well-timed hit going into the last bend he managed to pip Stone at the line to claim the win.  Track conditions were much slipperier for heat three; not that 917 Troy Hemmins was deterred, as he took a comfortable win as behind Farrell, 914 Callum Faulconbridge and 055 Olivia Herzig enjoyed a fine closing lap battle, the trio finishing in that order.  The Final was an exciting affair, with an early yellow flag suspension for 617 Christina Sillifant stranded on the entry to the home straight.  870 Bertie Farrell led the field off on the restart and built up a good lead.  Behind, Hunt tangled with Austen Farrell which saw the star grader spin through 360 degrees on the home straight.  That allowed Darby through into second where he began to reel in the race leader.  Austen Farrell, along with some other backmarkers, did no favours to race leader Bertie Farrell, which gave Darby the chance to close again, only for Darby to then find himself delayed by the backmarking traffic.  Bertie Farrell held on to take his first feature final win to land the BB Van Hire & Sales annual trophy, whilst Darby and Faulconbridge completed the top three.

Back 2 Basic Bangers

A good field of Back 2 Basic Bangers gathered for their first outing of the year with the opening heat seeing 102 Tom Sandercock being spun on multiple occasions on the home straight.  303 Josh Jones led for much of the race only to be passed by 632 Arron Bennett in his former taxi with a couple of laps to go.  Heat two started in the dry but the forecast rain made a delayed arrival mid race causing significant challenges for the drivers on track.  The race was halted for a loose wheel.  On the restart 83 Ben Styles quickly hit the front and was unchallenged to the flag, but behind him there was plenty of chaos with Bennett’s car coming under attack from 881 Gary Emery and 5 Jake Bayet.  Jones made an early break at the front in the Final, whilst 166 Luke Gillbard and 355 Aaron Dark found themselves stranded across the home straight as the following pack forced their way through.  Sandercock and 386 Ryan Wagstaffe made heavy contact into the rear of 28 Connor Karkeek whilst Styles set about 44 Liam Boswarthick with 652 Kristian Gale joining in with Styles continuing for his second win of the afternoon.

Stock Rods 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 286 909 728 777 504 441 944 204 762 77
Final 944 504 909 77 32 14 204 285 762 982
Grand National 504 762 909 441 944 204 728 77 275 982
B2B Bangers 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 632 881 303 83 355 5 18 386 823 166
Heat 2 83 102 303 15 166 5 632 nof
Final 83 652 102 386 18 nof
Ministox 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Heat 1 577 382 907 617 917 870 217 525 928 242
Heat 2 382 525 907 870 770 914 942 055 202 970
Heat 3 917 770 914 055 617 577 970 202 217 942
Final 870 577 914 970 907 202 382 942 525 217
  • DSC_1524
  • DSC_1550
  • DSC_1583
  • DSC_1598
  • DSC_1609
  • DSC_1623
  • DSC_1635
  • DSC_1640
  • DSC_1646
  • DSC_1673
  • DSC_1682
  • DSC_1752
  • DSC_1808
  • DSC_1812
  • DSC_1831
  • DSC_1867
  • DSC_1898
  • DSC_1934
  • DSC_1936
  • DSC_1964
  • DSC_1997
  • DSC_2064
  • DSC_2090
  • DSC_2104
  • DSC_2124

Site by Chris Frankum | Design by Andy Jackson

Powered by software developed by Nexus Open Software

Terrms and Conditions

© 2021 Autospeed. All Rights Reserved.